Saturday, August 30, 2008

DARK OBSESSION by Allison Chase

Forced into a marriage to save her reputation and his estate, Grayson Lowell and Nora Thorngood must trust that the rumors concerning each other are false. When their community refuses to let them reestablish their lives, they move to Blackheath Moor, Lowell's family's estate. Met by a mysterious housekeeper, a mute nephew, and two ghosts, the newlyweds forge into a mystery that has cost Grayson his finances and has his sanity teetering on the edge of an abyss.

Ms Chase does a fabulous job of weaving her characters together in a story that will keep you glued to the pages. I rooted for Gray and Nora from the minute they entered the scene and held my breath until the end. The secondary characters enrich the story and will keep you offset as to who did the deed. Equally important is how and why it was done. I worried that I would get to the end and it would be an easy finish. Not so. The conclusion was very satisfying.

I am not a fan of paranormal books, but I do enjoy a good ghost story. In the tradition of JANE EYRE, DARK OBSESSION will satisfy lovers of Gothic novels. This book is a must read.

Thursday, August 28, 2008

Back in sync

Ahhh, I had such a good time writing yesterday. I finally reconnected with Isa and Cole. I sank into her skin and didn't want to leave the keyboard. I love it when that happens. : D

My husband mentioned our upcoming vacation and my first thought was, *rubbing hands together* I can't wait for all of that time to write while in the car. Is that a bad thing? lol

Wednesday, August 27, 2008

Betas

The Christmas anthology is in the hands of beta readers and I am getting very encouraging comments. As soon as I get their full critiques, it will be out the door. What a nice feeling.

Tuesday, August 26, 2008

A review is in!

"Not to be missed", according to Romance Reviews Today website. Please take a look at COST OF FREEDOM's entire review.

Sunday, August 24, 2008

A touch of home

omg, I just had the best hit on my blog. It was from Cork, Ireland. That's home for my family. Well, it was home over one hundred and some odd years ago.

As is the case with most Americans, I am a conglomeration of a variety of nationalites. German, French, and American Indian (Cherokee, to be exact), but my heart is Irish.

In my youth, I would listen for hours as my grandmother told the story of her grandmother leaving her homeland. I especially loved to hear her mimic the accent. I don't know that I would have enjoyed meeting Grandma Nora, she seemed like a hard as nails woman. I guess she would have to be to take on the challenges she faced.

It was very nice to see a part of home attached to my blog.

Saturday, August 23, 2008

Back to McKnight

I'm having a little transition problem. I have spent the last five weeks writing the 'short' and need to move back to the full length. It's a little more difficult than I expected.

To get back in the McKnight frame of mind, I'm reading over a few scenes leading up to the point where I left off, reviewing my plans for the next few chapters, and familiarizing myself with the main character's appearances. I'll get there.

Thursday, August 21, 2008

Finished (first draft, anyway)

The first draft of the Christmas Anthology is finished!!! WooHoo. I'm still working on a name, but everything I come up with sounds hokey.

I'm presently at 16k, which is a nice place to be at this point. I prefer to write light on the first draft. I find it easier to add words, layers, etc. than remove them. Plus, it's depressing to hit delete on so much work. :)

So, I'll let the anthology rest, go back to work on McKnight, and wait for edits on Bound by Honor.

Saturday, August 16, 2008

THE PRESENCE by Heather Graham

Wanna spend the afternoon with a good mystery? If so, you gotta read THE PRESENCE. Toni Fraser and a group of friends have rented a Scottish Castle and are giving skitted tours, featuring the ancestral owner. Toni believes she has created the tale but when the descendant of her play arrives, she is made aware that her ghost story is factual on many levels.

This is my first experience with Heather Graham's writing and I loved her book. Her writing style is easy to follow, she paints the scene with a skilled hand, and her characters are fantastic. She also weaves subplots and red herrings throughout her story that will keep you guessing until the end.

Although it took me a while to keep all of the characters straight, I was drawn in immediately to the story and found it difficult to stop turning the pages. THE PRESENCE has made me a fan of Ms Graham's work, and I will look for more of her books.

Friday, August 8, 2008

AT HIS COMMAND by Brenda Coulter

Part of the Homecoming Heroes series from Steeple Hill, AT HIS COMMAND is a Christian novel featuring Madeline Bright and Jake Hopkins. Jake survived a military helicopter crash and lives with the guilt that his best friend died. Maddie is a constant reminder that although he lived, he will never lead a normal life.

The characters in this book are very real and and easy to relate to. Jake struggles with a future that he sees only as grim while Maddie tries to get him to see her as something more than his best friend's kid sister. Just when she is ready to give up on him, both of their mothers step in for a few coincidental meetings. God bless meddling moms.

This book is filled with faith-encouraging scenes that aren't at all preachy. The characters handle adversity with very human responses while relying on Godly wisdom and intervention. AT HIS COMMAND is a must read for anyone who has hungered for an opportunity to peek into other people's lives and see how it is possible to rally when your plans are shattered.

AT HIS COMMAND will be available in stores Aug. 26 but can be ordered now from Amazon.com Please visit Brenda's blog, No rules. Just write.

Saturday, August 2, 2008

TUMBLING THROUGH TIME by Gwyn Cready

Seph Pyle is at the Pittsburgh airport with co-worker Tom Fraser when a killer pair of pink stilettos catch her eye in a store window. What better way to fill time while waiting for their flight to be called. The fit, color, feel has never been better. She plunks down her credit card, snaps the last strap in place, and finds herself on board a ship in 1706. The captain is quick to explain her arrival. After all, this is Seph's doing. He is merely a character in her book and he wants spoilers.

I have to tell you, I loved this book. Yes, there are a few bumps but nothing unforgivable. The characters were likable, fun, and real. When I read the back cover and saw two love interests, I knew whose side I was on. Umm, no. Tom won me over. I loved that he didn't spend all of his time not believing her story. And his little test to see if she had traveled, this is a guy you want to have around.

The idea that an author ends up in her own unwritten story was a great hook, and I wished this could have been expanded on a little more. With that said, the book did not lack plot.

Can we talk cover art for a minute? I am not a fan of typical romance covers, but I like this one. I think it is because the artist got it right. The cover depicts the story. Even the shoe's details are there.

This is not a by-the-book romance or time travel story. YES! (Sorry. Reviewer commentary.) I enjoy both of these genres, but this book had me turning the page because I didn't know what to expect next. My fingers so itched to flip to the last few pages before I was finished. I resisted. :)

TUMBLING THROUGH TIME is a definite keeper and Gwyn Cready is an 'auto-buy' author.